Quick navigation: Deposit accounts Credit cards Brokerages Other bonuses Referral exchange

Photo
- - - - -

WHY IS EFT (ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER) ILLEGAL?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 misterno

misterno

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 February 2005 - 07:33 PM

Hello

I am new to the country and I came from Europe. The other day I was in a WAMU branch trying to open a checking account. During the process, I told the guy that back in Europe, I had an online banking from a local bank where I can transfer money to anybody in any bank in the country. And the fee is like 50 cents.

Personal banker first did not understand what I said. So I repeated myself and he understood and scratched his head and said "this is illegal in the US"

So I asked the guy what they offer as online banking.

1) I can not send money to my other accounts in other banks.

2) I can not send money to other people in the same bank

3) I can not send money to other people in other banks.

Do you guys call this online banking?????

Why is EFT illegal in the USA?

I am really shocked to hear all these and I hope these are not true.

#2 mir322

mir322

• Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 09 February 2005 - 10:40 PM

As far as I know, EFTs are not illegal...I know ING, Virtual Bank, ETrade, Ex24 all do them...strange that the guy told you otherwise.

#3 vivyip

vivyip

1 million bucks

• Members
  • 631 posts

Posted 09 February 2005 - 11:32 PM

EFT is not illegal...
It's just a method of transferring money here. ACH is a form of EFT.

ACH is automated clearing house(?) that banks often use to electronically transfer funds.

Your bank just might offer this feature at this time. I thinik BoA might begin to offer it. Look around for a bank that offers these services if you really need it.

#4 markber

markber

1 billion bucks

• Admin
  • 15,048 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 07:26 AM

QUOTE(misterno @ Feb 9 2005, 01:33 PM)